Dead Wax Society

Just another blog about nostalgia for wax and baseball cards

A new challenger arrives…

I’m not sure what re-triggered my recent desire to seek out my old childhood memories of card collecting. I think it was fueled in part by my discussions with a friend about the Atlanta Braves baseball team in the 90s. Then me deciding to gift him an unopened box of 1991 Upper Deck Baseball so he could tear apart those wax packs.

I’m not sure how long I actually collected. Definitely started sometime in 1992 and ended right around the 1994 MLB strike. So 3 years of collecting cards, maybe not a very long time but to an 11-12 year old that is nearly a quarter of their life. Besides, what else could an 9 year old do but to scrounge up the money to buy packs and meticulously organize them into sleeves and determining which cards deserved the coveted but limited, “toploader” status?

Being from Southern California, my favorite team was the Dodgers and the Angels. I read up on their history, how the Dodgers were original from Brooklyn, how Kirk Gibson injured and barely able to move had hit a walk-off home run against the imposing closer of the A’s Dennis Eckersley. I remember Vin Scully telling me to join the Blue Crew of ’92 and then the Blue Crew of ’93 and I remember listening to him trying to discuss bullet points about the replacement players that took over spring training when the Major League Players Union went on strike in ’94. I remember the 5 consecutive Rookies of the Years the Dodgers had starting with Karros, then Piazza, Mondesi, Nomo, and Hollandsworth. I remember reading about Kevin Gross’ no-hitter against the Braves in 1992 (unfortunately for a team that finished 63-99) and in 1993 when Mike Piazza hit 2 homeruns to eliminate a San Fransisco Giant team that had 103 wins and missed the playoffs. I’m pretty sure that’s something that will never occur again in the current 3 division 1 wildcard format.

Anyways, enough with my rambling. What am I seeking to accomplish with this blog? I’m not sure of the answer. My intention is to just document the various cards that are in my collection along with maybe discussing me buying newer sports cards.

Written by deadwaxsociety

May 8, 2011 at 8:49 am

Posted in Dead Wax Society

