Dead Wax Society

Just another blog about nostalgia for wax and baseball cards

I’m not “dead”

Just busy collating my collection.

Right now I’m pretty much buying lots of Gypsy Queen minis on eBay. Actually really hard to win stuff and the S&H is really killing some of these deals. There was actually some talk earlier on Twitter about rating sellers who charge $3-$5 for shipping. Personally I don’t mind the shipping as long as I feel I’m getting a good deal on the cards and that there is actually something going into the shipping. If they’re just using penny sleeves and a bubble mailer, I’m not sure they should be charging me $3 for it. But in reading the description of some of the deals some include a toploader and I think overall if you want the cards to be safe (and I do) I’d pay an extra 50 cents to a buck to make sure they arrive to me unbent.

Still trying to get some motivation to do more writeups but its hard to when you don’t have a scanner to scan the cards you’re talking about. There’s actually a bigger subject I want to cover, which is the inclusion of, “The Box” that increased my collection nearly threefold and added Basketball, Hockey and Football to my mix of cards as well as some really weird oddity/one-off cards. I’m still doing a little bit of research for it but hopefully I’ll have something up in the coming days.

Written by deadwaxsociety

May 25, 2011 at 8:35 am

Posted in Dead Wax Society

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve taken a dive back into the hobby w/ Gypsy Queen as well. I’m looking to complete a set of GQ and would be more than happy to trade some duplicates/mini’s, if you’re interested. Good luck w/ the chase!

    Ryan

    May 25, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    • I’m waiting for a huge lot that will end in a couple of days. Then going to start asking around for trades. I’ll probably just post my want list on the site. Thanks!

      deadwaxsociety

      May 26, 2011 at 8:48 am


Comments are closed.

