Dead Wax Society

Just another blog about nostalgia for wax and baseball cards

Topps Gypsy Queen Pull Ratios (Part 2)

Topps Gypsy Queen Pull Ratios, Part 1

So apparently I can’t stop talking about these pull ratios that are listed by Topps regarding Gypsy Queen inserts. I tried to pry some info out of Topps’ twitter account but all I got were some responses that didn’t quite satisfy me.

When asked if there were 1350 cases of Hobby (which can be independently confirmed by looking at Topps’ own sell sheet which lists 1350 total each of mini variation, mini HR Heroes, mini Great Ones, mini Future Stars. Since those came one per box, we can assume that there were 1350 total boxes, no? But the reply I get is this:

@DeadWaxSociety Sorry, they don’t like for me to disclose print runs.

When I asked them how the Framed Printing Plate insert and Framed Mini Printing Plate insert, which both have 1400 total cards could have different pull ratios, they reply back with:

@DeadWaxSociety It appears there was an error in the number of print plate subjects in our internal product details and the ratios were calculated based on that error.

Finally, when I asked them if Topps will make any kind of announcement regarding printing the correct ratios

@DeadWaxSociety I doubt we’ll correct the ratios. I only discovered the error trying to find the info for you. Probably too late.

So I guess that’s it. Topps confirmed there were errors, but won’t really do anything to correct its mistakes.

Insert Name Total Cards # to Printed Hobby Odds Corrected Hobby Odds Increase in difficulty
Leather Minis 350 10 1:75 1:92.5 1.23
Framed Printing Plates 350 4 1:144 1:231.42 1.24
Framed Mini Printing Plates 350 4 1:186 1:231.42 1.24
Insert Printing Plates 75 4 1:651 1:1080 1.66
60th Anniversary Autographs 5 60 1:1447 1:1080 0.75
Original Art Patches 50 1 1:5426 1:6480 1.19

So as you can see, everything is actually harder to pull in Hobby _except_ for the 60th Anniversary Autographs, which were already extremely difficult to pull in the first place.

Unfortunately I can’t get “accurate” ratios of the other inserts because they are also produced in Retail Packs. Since Retail comes in various forms in Packs of 6. You could probably get an accurate count of the number of packs, but not the broken down factors by 24-pack retail box, 8-pack blaster, or 3-pack rack pack.

Also other stuff to think about: According to Topps, base minis come in at 1:1 pack. I’ve opened a box, a couple of blasters and as far as I can tell, I’ve yet to draw a pack with both a base mini and an insert mini. So the true ratio pull of Base Minis isn’t 1:1 It’s 1-(Ratio SP)-(Ratio Red Back GQ)-(Ratio Black Parallel).

I now believe Topps didn’t put in the wrong ratios maliciously, but they’re not trying to correct their mistake by at least publishing something.

Written by deadwaxsociety

June 5, 2011 at 1:39 am

